HARTSHILL Strollers B team won a mini-tournament in Hereford on Sunday, July 10.

The victory was sweet for the oldsters – all but one in the 60+ squad – as they defeated the club’s A team . . . all of them 50+.

The B team won all of their three matches – scoring nine goals.

The six-a-side mini-tournament was arranged by go-ahead Herefordshire County FA, which actively supports and promotes walking football.

The first fixture proved to be the clincher with Hartshill A and B teams being drawn together.

The youth team went ahead with a fluke goal from Eddie Tromans, due to a massive deflection which left goalie Dave Seddon with no chance.

Undaunted, the B team rallied and equalised through Steve (Thunderbolt) Nicholls and then went ahead with what turned out to be a match-clinching goal by hard-working Richard Delahaye, to end 2-1.

The Hartshill veterans were immediately back in action against Hereford Wednesday and unexpectedly went 0-1 down to a bizarre goal caused by a strange bounce on the cut-up pitch.

However, the Bees re-grouped and scored through Steve Nicholls (twice) and John Cooper (also twice).

The 4-1 scoreline did few favours to Hartshill as they repeatedly bombarded the Wednesday goal with shots in the second half – hitting the woodwork and shooting inches off target.

The Bees wrapped up their hat-trick of wins with a 3-0 victory over Leominster FC, John Cooper, John Moore and Richard Delahaye being the scorers.

Meanwhile, the A team trounced Leominster 5-0, with goals by Gary Davis (2), Gareth Priest (2) and Eddie Tromans.

They then rounded off with a 3-1 win over Hereford Wednesday, Martin Broome, Adrian Chilton and Dave Shaw netting.

So, Hartshill B won the mini-tournament, with Hartshill A finishing second.

Tournament organiser Tom Mason, apprentice football development officer with Herefordshire FA, said: “It was an excellent event, played in a very sporting manner.”

It is hoped that a return tournament will be arranged at Summerhill School in due course.


B team: Dave Seddon, Barry Geyton, Steve Nicholls, John Moore, John Cooper, Richard Delahaye, Ivan White, Bob Haywood (all players used).

Team manager’s Man of the Tournament: Steve Nicholls

A team: Kevin Weston, Gary Davis, Eddie Tromans, Martin Broome, Peter Grove, Reg Walker, Dave Shaw, Adrian Chilton, Gareth Priest (all players used).

Team manager’s Man of the Tournament: Adrian Chilton.